The Save Oak Flat Act was introduced today in the US House (HR 665), and Senate (S 173).  These bills would repeal the Oak Flat Land Exchange, which would give Oak Flat to huge international mining companies to build a large environmentally destructive copper mine.

The House version of the Save Oak Flat Act was introduced by Representative Raul Grijalva (D-AZ) who chairs the House Natural Resources Committee.

The Senate version was introduced by Senator Bernie Sanders (I-VT).

The House version has 29 bipartisan cosponsors including Representatives Ruben Gallego (D-AZ), Pete Aguilar (D-CA), Tony Cárdenas (D-CA), Jimmy Gomez (D-CA), Jared Huffman (D-CA), Ted Lieu (D-CA), Alan Lowenthal (D-CA), Grace Napolitano (D-CA), Raul Ruiz (D-CA), Norma Torres (D-CA), Diane DeGette (D-CO), Gregorio Sablan (D-CNMI), Alcee Hastings (D-FL), Chellie Pingree (D-ME), Betty McCollum (D-MN), Walter Jones (R-NC), Ben Ray Lujan (D-NM), Deb Haaland (D-NM), Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez (D-NY), Gregory Meeks (D-NY), Earl Blumenauer (D-OR), Peter DeFazio (D-OR), Matt Cartwright (D-PA.), Markwayne Mullin (R-OK), Tom Cole (R-OK), A. Donald McEachin (D-VA), Derek Kilmer (D-WA.), Suzan DelBene (D-WA), and Gwen Moore (D-WI).

The Senate version was cosponsored by Senators Elizabeth Warren (D-MA), Cory Booker (D-NJ), Ron Wyden(D-OR), Jeff Merkley (D-OR) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM).

Please ask your Congressional delegation to cosponsor the Save Oak Flat Act (or thank them if they have already done so).

Here is a copy of the House Natural Resources Committee press release on the bill introduction.

You can circulate this petition to support the Save Oak Flat Act. Be sure to send filled petition sheets to the address provided.

Your Title Goes Here

Ask your member of Congress to cosponsor the Save Oak Flat Act.